Could THIS the best banana bread ever?!

Oreo banana breadI thought I was absolutely done with finding a perfect banana bread recipe. Heck, I’m still in love with my healthy almond butter banana bread; it’s still my go-to. But with two overripe, semi-molding bananas and no almond butter in sight, I was forced to get creative and try something new.

So god I created Oreo banana bread.

Bananas are the only fruit I have in kitchen on a consistent basis. I always have them around for smoothies, easy eating, freezing and banana bread. My roommate requested that I should make banana bread. My problem with banana bread is that I am always snacking on it — to the point where I’ve eaten half of the loaf. It’s just SO good. It’s so versatile — have it for breakfast, snack, dessert — it’s good during anytime of the day. So instead of freezing my overripe bananas, I took the plunge and decided to bake up a loaf of banana-y goodness.

Oh, but it gets better. You see, I had a bag of leftover Oreo cookie crumbs from a cupcake order ages ago. I never ever have any storebought cookies in my pantries ever unless it is for an order. I noticed that they have been sitting there for quite some time so it was time to use them up. Oreos + bananas? Why not? Chocolate and bananas work well together so why not Oreos? It’s essentiall the same thing…but BETTER.

So I basically started playing around with a recipe one night, just eye-balling everything and hoped that it would turn out. You see, if you’ve been baking for the amount of time I’ve been baking and at same frequency as I do, you kind of just get to know what acceptable cake/loaf/cookie dough batter looks like. You just know. So as just a head’s up, these are approximations (as per usual) but I have a very good eye and had my measuring cup ready.

I know the batter looks like poo but the end result is just plain DREAMY. And you know when I use the adjective “dreamy” — it means that it was like a gift from god or something, just heavenly. Full banana flavour explosion, a light, cake-like texture rather than super dense, and a fair amount of Oreo cookie goodness. My cookie crumbs were pulsed pretty hard so it really melded into the dough. Next time around, I want to throw in Oreo cookie chunks vs. cookie crumbs because I think the Oreo flavour might be able to withstand the banana flavour. Plus, who doesn’t love chunks of Oreo cookies when you’re biting into a cake/loaf?

I’ve had many requests for this recipe so here you go! Feel free to make this completely VEGAN and/or GLUTEN-FREE if you desire (just sub a flax seed egg with the real egg) and use gluten-free flour (I still have some leftover all purpose that I’m trying to use up). Happy baking!
Oreo banana bread Oreo banana bread Oreo banana bread Oreo banana bread Oreo banana breadOreo banana bread

What you’ll need:
– 1/4 cup coconut oil, neutral-flavoured and at room temperature
– 1/8 cup agave syrup
– 2 overripe bananas, mashed
– 1 egg, room temperature
– 1/3 cup oat flour
– 1/2 cup all purpose flour
– 1/4 cup almond milk
– 2 tbsp ground flax seed
– 1 1/2 tbsp hemp hearts
– 4 tsps bee pollen
– 1 tsp baking soda
– 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
– 1 1/3 cups Oreo cookies, pulsed in a food processor

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat your oven to 325F and line an 8×4″ loaf pan with parchment paper.
2. Beat your coconut oil over medium speed in your stand mixer.
3. Add in the mashed bananas and agave syrup.
4. Add in the egg.
5. Add the flours, flax seed, hemp hearts, bee pollen, baking soda and powder, and gradually add in the milk until it is well incorporated.
6. Fold in the Oreo cookie crumbs and ensure that everything is well mixed.
7. Pour the batter into the lined loaf pan and bake for 1 hour to 1 hour and 15 minutes (I baked mine for 1 hour and 6 minutes). Let it cool in the pan for atleast 30 minutes and be sure to store in an airtight container. Makes 1 loaf.

Leave a Reply

