Killer lettuce wraps.

Avocado, shrimp and egg lettuce wrapsLooking for an innovative and refreshing way to eat your food? Skip the tortilla wraps and use some leafy greens instead! I present to you my avocado, shrimp and egg lettuce wraps.

I first fell in love with lettuce wraps was when I was a child. When I was younger, my family went out for Chinese a lot, so much so that I actually began to hate it. Yes, I am aware now that we were having Chinese-Canadian/Chinese food (ie. beef and broccoli, house special chow mein, house special fried rice, wonton soup, etc) but atleast I know better. When we weren’t ordering take out, we would get together with my grandparents and my aunts and uncles on my dad’s side of the family and go out to Chinese restaurants and have a huge dinner. I’m talking about the cold meat platter, peking duck, roast duck, steamed ginger fish, plus, everything else. My favourite dish during the feast (and probably still is) would be the lettuce wraps. Tender, succulent pieces of duck, crunchy water chestnuts, sweetness from the hoisin sauce — oh, it was wonderful. I’m already drooling.

Since I don’t eat meat much anymore (or atleast not so much at home), I decided to make my own twist on the lettuce wrap and offer up something that was chilled, light and refreshing. Basically, I threw some of my favourite ingredients together — diced avocado, hard-boiled eggs and spicy garlic shrimp — and wrapped them up in a lettuce leaf. So satisfying. I bet this would go amazingly with dungeness crab or marinated ahi tuna. Oh, the combinations! Makes a great snack and energy booster or great little appetizer…or entree, in my case. Enjoy!
Avocado, shrimp and egg lettuce wraps Avocado, shrimp and egg lettuce wraps Avocado, shrimp and egg lettuce wraps Avocado, shrimp and egg lettuce wraps
Avocado, shrimp and egg lettuce wraps

What you’ll need:
– 2 tsps avocado oil
– 3 cloves garlic, minced
– 10-12 raw shrimp, shells removed
– 1/2 tsp dried red chili flakes
– 1/2 tsp gochugaru
– 2 avocados, diced
– 4 eggs, hard-boiled, yolks removed, diced
– 3/4 cup baby gai lan, steamed and diced\
– 2 stalks of green onion, sliced diagonally
– Juice of 1 lemon (make it 2 if you want it more lemon-y)
– Salt and pepper to taste
– 1/2 head of romaine lettuce, ends removed and leaves separated

What you’ll need to do:
1. Sautee your garlic and shrimp in the avocado oil over medium high heat, about 2 minutes on each side. Remove from heat and let it cool before dicing them into small pieces.
2. While the shrimp is cooling, prepare the rest of your ingredients. Combine the rest of the ingredients, minus the lettuce, in a bowl. Add the chopped shrimp once it has cooled. Spoon into lettuce leaves and enjoy. Makes 4 servings.

Leave a Reply

