Roasting vs. sauteing mushrooms.

Roasted mushroomsHow have I gone this long without roasting mushrooms!? SERIOUSLY. This is the only way I will have my mushrooms from now on…besides mushroom risotto, that is. This roasted mushroom recipe will complete your life. Guaranteed.

So I am still using up all the delicious mushrooms in my fridge that I snagged from the kick ass reduced bin at T&T. I mean, I got 3-4lbs of button mushrooms for $1.50!??! Yes, please. But since they are going to expire soon, I needed to use them up. I have so much produce in my fridge, it’s not even funny anymore. You would think that I was cooking for two but no, this is all for my, myself and I.

What to do with a huge amount of mushrooms? Well, I had originally thought of sauteing it but I honestly don’t think I have a pan or wok that large to hold all of my mushrooms in. Okay, maybe my oldschool wok could handle it but I just remembered someone talking about roasted mushrooms. Quick Google check and my mind has been made up. I decided to slow roast these babies and god, it wasn’t long til my house was smelling like mushroom heaven.

So, why roasting vs sauteing? I am so used to preparing my mushrooms by sauteing them. My probably is that since mushrooms are like 90% water, they shrink. All the water is extracted and if you keep those babies over heat, they’ll practically disappear. The great thing about roasting mushrooms is that all the water is eliminated while retaining a strong mushroom flavour.

For this recipe, they are all rough estimates so again, adjust to taste and base it on the amount of mushrooms you have on-hand. I had roughly 3-4lbs which is a significant amount so I just decided to do them all in one go. Again, you can definitely try using other mushrooms and I am sure the result will be just as satisfying.

From now on, this will be the only way I prepare mushrooms. I trust that you’ll be just as hooked as I am!
Roasted mushrooms Roasted mushrooms Roasted mushroomsRoasted mushrooms (adapted from Serious Eats)

What you’ll need:
– 4 lbs of button mushrooms, cleaned and quartered
– 1 tbsp olive oil
– 2 tsps coarse sea salt
– 2 tsps dried thyme
– 3 tsps dried rosemary
– 1 tsp ground black pepper

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat your oven to 375F with your oven placed in the centre rack. Line a baking sheet with a non-stick baking mat such as Silpat or aluminum foil or parchment paper. Set aside.
2. In a large bowl, toss your mushrooms with the olive oil and spices.
3. Place dressed mushrooms on the baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes.
4. Remove from the oven and remove all the liquid that has been excreted from the mushrooms and save for later use. Return the mushrooms to the pan and bake for an additional 30 minutes until nicely caramelized. Makes a great appetizer/side for 6-8 people (or if you’re a mushroom freak like me, 4 people).

One thought on “Roasting vs. sauteing mushrooms.

  1. Pingback: When in doubt, make pasta. | Umami & Me

Leave a Reply

