Mountain Bread pizza.

Mountain Bread pizzaHave you heard of Mountain Bread? I’ve never seen or heard of the brand before but when I spotted it at the Saturday market, I was curious so picked up a package. It looked just like a wrap of some sort and I usually like to keep burrito wrappers or tortillas in my freezer just in case. After further research and a cool recipe on the back of their packaging, it looked like pizzas could be made with these wraps. I was intrigued so I tried it.

The result? Mountain Bread pesto pizzas.

I actually wasn’t planning on cooking since I thought the leftover pasta I had was enough and due to the fact that I had three ginormous slices of pizza at work the day before but, no, I was wrong. I was still hungry and disciplined enough to not dig into my bag of Terra Chips.

When I make homemade pizzas, I usually go with the mini pre-made pizza crusts. But since I was able to snag a bag of Mountain Bread, I was curious and you know what? It turned out amazingly!

Let me begin that Mountain Bread is wrap company based out in Australia that makes deliciously thin wraps.. What makes them even more amazing is that they do not feature any cholesterol, no dairy, no sourdough, no eggs, 98% fat-free and yeast-free. Their texture is a combination of naan that has been pounded down ever so thinly… It’s really unique and delicous! I only tried the “Natural” flavour but I’m intrigued to try all of their other offerings.

I was skeptical at first in using Mountain Bread as a substitution for pizza dough but my heart was set on pizza for dinner — there was no looking back. And you know what? My expectations were greatly exceeded! Crispy, crunchy, chewy… And since I used four pieces of Mountain Bread as my “pizza crust”, the edges crisped up and the layers were similar to phyllo, minus the flakiness. Sub chewiness for flakiness. It’s super hard to describe but the results were pretty damn amazing. I just finished eating my cauliflower pizza and I’m already wondering where to find this in grocery stores… hm!

Also, most of the flavour, in my opinion, stemmed from whatever type of pesto you choose. In this case, I chose some garlic scape pesto which worked out perfectly for me. Again, choose whatever pesto you desire (and that you like!) and I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.
Mountain Bread pizza Mountain Bread pizza Mountain Bread pizzaMountain Bread pesto pizzas

What you’ll need:

Base
– 4 Mountain Bread wraps
– 2 tbsp pesto of your choice

Toppings
– 2/3 steamed broccoli or Lebanese cauliflower, chopped finely
– 1/2 tsp dried red chili flakes
– 1/4 cup aged white cheddar cheese, grated
– 1 egg, room temperature
– Freshly ground pepper

What you’ll need to do:
1. Preheat your oven to 500F. Get a pizza stone ready or line a baking sheet with Silpat or parchment paper. Set aside.
2. Place your Mountain Bread wraps on the Silpat mat and layer each wrap on top of eachother. This will form as your base. Spread the pesto evenly up to the edges.
3. Spread the toppings of your choice onto your pizza. I would go in order of the ingredients listed: broccoli/cauliflower, chili flakes, cheese, crack an egg in the middle, and finish with some freshly ground pepper.
4. Bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes or until the egg whites turn opaque. Cool in pan and slice. Makes 1 small pizza.

Leave a Reply

